Andrew Lapham
  • Longmont, CO
Votes |
Newbie in Longmont, CO

Andrew Lapham
  • Longmont, CO
Posted Mar 15 2017, 07:12

Hey Bigger Pockets Members,

My name is Andrew and I am brand new to Bigger Pockets.

• Bio: I am a 27-year-old husband and father of two little ones living in Longmont, CO. I am an Active Duty military member stationed in Northern Colorado while the Navy pays for me to go to school. I am currently studying Mechanical Engineering at CU looking to graduate in May of 2019. After graduation, I will return to my Active Duty service in either San Diego, CA or Virginia Beach, VA.
  • Real Estate Experience: I have very little experience in true REI. I have purchased two homes in my life with lots of lessons learned in both experiences. The first home purchased was on the island of Oahu while I was stationed there. A fellow service member and I purchased the home together and lived in it. Our get rich plans were to run a vacation rental out of the home while we were away on training. Needless to say, we were in over our heads and it didn't work out. Lessons Learned: 1) Read the HOA documents to make sure vacation rentals are allowed. We battled with the HOA and they almost took us to court for renting our home out as a vacation rental. Rules are rules and we should have seen it going into the property. 2) There is a lot more that goes into vacation rentals than we originally thought. 3) We got a crash course in the costs of actually selling a home. Purchase price: 760k Selling Price: 850k Fantasy: I just made a killing, and am a real estate genius Reality: Net profit - 2k.  My family and I are currently living in our second purchased home in east Longmont and are still learning the in and outs of home ownership.