Hey All! New Member Here! From NJ, moving to Chicago

19 Replies

Hey Everyone!

Newbie here, born and raised in central NJ! I've been spending the past many months reading and reading and reading, and 2018 is the year to start diving in! I've learned a ton both on this site (the sheer volume of information and helpful folks is outstanding!), listening to podcasts, and books, and I'm ready to put pen to paper and take some action. That said, I'm hoping by getting involved with the community, I'll continue that learning process and meet some awesome people while I'm at it!

As a long term goal, I'm hoping to build a portfolio of rentals that will eventually replace the income I make now so I can retire early. I'm a Consultant specialized in Marketing/Sales, and while I like what I do, I don't want to do it forever! To supplement my 401k, IRA, and brokerage accounts, I want to use real estate as an additional vehicle to invest in.

To start, I'm currently looking in Northern Indiana (e.g. Warsaw, IN) for single family or small multifamily properties. While I'm local to NJ, the prices in this area are a bit steep, especially for my first purchase to get my feet wet. I honed in on Indiana for a couple reasons. 1. I have cousins in the area to provide some boots on the ground for when I can't travel (which I plan on doing!). 2. I'll likely be moving to Chicago in the next 2-3 months so I'll be a bit more local shortly, at least within a drive.

I'll close by saying I'm looking forward to getting involved, looking forward to meeting people, and looking forward to finding my first deal!

Thanks!

Regards,

Jeremy

@Jeremy Holzwarth Welcome! I'm also a new investor relatively new to the forums. Sounds like you're pretty set on investing in IN. Have you looked at Trenton in NJ? I recently took a trip there and seems like there are a lot of affordable single and multi-families which would make great first investments.