MLB player struggling to get approved

29 Replies

I am currently a professional baseball player for the Chicago White Sox.  With that being said it is extremely hard to get loans from the bank due to only having seasonal income.  I was fortunate enough to get approved last year after making my MLB debut, I guess making myself seem more convincing.  

I purchased a two bed two bath condo in Carolina Beach and will be renting this unit out for the summer.  After realizing the amazing benefits of this I would love to continue to invest more into real estate!  Do you have any advice on the best ways to get approved from the banks with a seasonal income?  I'm currently looking to purchase another vacation rental, or a multi home that my significant other and I are willing to do all management.  I'm extremely blessed that she holds a Northwestern degree and is a professional photographer and marketer  ....believe it or not this is my passion above baseball.  

From the research I have personally done it seems that my only options are partner investing such as peer to peer funding.  Are there any other ways? I'd love to hear your thoughts.  Thank you all !!!

Teachers, construction workers and horticulture workers in the Midwest are seasonal also. Are you paid for how many months out of the year as a MLB player?
My suggestion is to prove the to a lender what your yearly Salary is by showing them your tax returns and by giving them proof of assets you have. I work with a small local bank and they are quite flexible with types of loans, documentation needed and rates/Dp%.
So really you just need to do some research and call up a number of lenders to have them look at your situation give you some advice on how to structure a loan.