• Bangor, ME
Votes |
Prenewbie in Greenville, SC interested in house hacking/buy&hold

Joshua Briscoe
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Bangor, ME
Posted May 5 2018, 11:15

Hello BiggerPockets

My name is Joshua Briscoe.  I just moved my family (wife and 3 small boys) back to Greenville South Carolina.  We lived for 8 years in Bangor Maine.  I am a nurse working in a CVICU, but over the past year I have started to become not completely satisfied with healthcare.  By accident I stumbled onto the bigger pockets you tube page and have been soaking up as much information as I can. 

I am eligible for a va loan and would like to get into a house hack or possibly a brr(rrr?). 

My big problem right now is finding a property that I feel  I can afford and/or meets the va loan requirements.

If anyone has any suggestions in my search or is interested in partnering with me in a rental deal please contact me.

Josh

ps Maybe another suggestion is what type of contact info I should be putting out on Biggerpockets?

User Stats

Votes
Kristopher Edwards
  • Easley, SC
Votes |
  • Easley, SC
Replied May 5 2018, 11:57

Joshua,

Let me be the first to welcome you to Bigger Pockets! This is a great resource that I have learned so much from. I highly recommend their podcast, @Brandon Turner’s “Book on Rental Property Investing”, his “Book on Managing Rental Properties”, and @Scott Trench’s book, “Set for Life.” 

I am also in the process of moving back to Greenville, SC after living near Nashville, TN for the past 5 years while in the US Army. I am currently looking at house hack as well with a VA Loan and have even looked at possibly getting a quadplex built.

I would love to meet up sometime and talk anything real estate or bounce ideas off each other! I look forward to speaking with you!

User Stats

Votes
Adam Drummond
  • Investor
  • Greenville, SC
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Greenville, SC
Replied May 5 2018, 13:54

@Joshua Briscoe