Hello from Cecil County, MD!

8 Replies

Hello everyone,

My name is Shane Christie. I'm a Civil Engineer who just started my career in January. I'm from a small town in Maryland, situated about a hour from Philadelphia and Baltimore.

I've been on bigger pockets for a few months now but finally decided to start getting engaged and trying to connect with people. I figured this would be a starting point. I'm interested in Buy and Hold properties. I've personally been looking near college towns (Salisbury University, University of Delaware, University of Maryland) where there is demand for rentals. I've seen some deals come and go and can't wait to get my hands on one. My only downfall is my crippling student loan debt, so I know I'll need to partner up to get my start.

I can't wait to start this journey and to start talking and learning and helping to everyone I meet on here!

Hi Shane,

I'm in a very similar situation to you, just started my career as a loan office and I've also been watching from the sideline for the past few months. It seems like we have very similar goals in mind so if you want to message me we can talk more about it. I'm excited to meet anyone and everyone I can in the area whose interested in real estate!

Welcome to BP @Shane M Christie . All the best to you as you get started on your real estate journey. 

With regards to your crushing student loan debt...I'd encourage you to list to the BiggerPockets Money Podcast as well as the ChooseFI podcast (in particular episodes 4, 21, 38, and 78)

Hi @Shane M Christie and welcome to BP. It's nice that you know that you are beginning to engage in RE and connect with like me individuals. You have definitely come to the right spot. Just remember one thing, you can't get anywhere with out taking action. And it's great that you have taken that step. Good luck to