Starting out in Utah

14 Replies

Hello all,

Jeremy here from Utah County.

I’ve been doing a ton of reading and studying about investing for a while now and I’m excited to get started. BiggerPockets seems like a fantastic community of investors.

I’m leaning towards wholesaling to start out but I’ve heard that’s difficult in Utah but also possible. I’ve also read some posts about some new stricter laws in regards to wholesaling and I’d really like to learn what I can and can’t do and which title companies are the best to work with, or if that makes a difference. I’d really love to fix and flip and buy long term rentals but I just don’t have the cash yet and I understand that hard money lenders are very expensive for new investors.

Any tips or legal advice for this area would be very helpful!

Thanks in advance!

Hows it going? Im new to the real estate game out here myself and went on meetup.com to attend events related to real estate investing. Theres quite a few going on in SLC and surrounding areas. Maybe ill see you at one or two in the near future.

Welcome to bigger pockets. Few things I would advise. Most of the major REIA's will have title company's that sponsor them. Start there. Many realtors and title companies will tell you that you can't do them, they just don't understand how. Start calling all your local title companies and ask if they will do a closed doc assignment and if they will do a dry double close so you don't have to use transactional funds to close. Our title company will allow us to do a dry double so long as we inform the seller that their funds are coming from a third party.

Hi, I am just starting out investing in Utah also, but I've been an agent for a while. The REIA has some good meetups and do a meeting specifically on wholesaling regularly. Its a little tricky here especially if you find stuff on the MLS with the market as hot as it is.