Newbie going from Hong Kong to Philadelphia, PA.

19 Replies

Hey all! My name is Maritsa and I’m a complete beginner in real estate investing. I haven’t even invested in my first property yet.

I currently live in Hong Kong but am moving back to Pennsylvania in 2 weeks. I’m so excited and ready to get started in real estate and hope to begin once I’m back in the States.

I’ve been working in media management for almost 10 years. Branding, print/web design, social media management and marketing. I feel that my skill set could benefit my real estate business.

I found BP on YouTube while searching “real estate for beginners” videos and I’m hooked! I’ve got big goals. I’d like to be earning 10k a month in no more than a years time. I feel that I’d like to start with a multi-family home or duplex. This way I could pay off the mortgage while living rent-free. Eventually, I’d like to invest in apartment complexes but I suppose this could change the more I learn.

Thanks for having me! Looking forward to getting started and being a part of the BP community!

Welcome to BP @Maritsa Cortes !

I got my start in a similar fashion - moving from Hong Kong to Maine. Back in those days I had to prepare by ordering a bunch of old fashioned things called "books" and have them shipped over to Hong Kong. Biggerpockets wasn't nearly the powerhouse it is today. 

I "house hacked" a duplex as my first investment. Looking back I wish I had gone with a 4-unit instead.

Lots of great info here on the forums and the BP Podcasts. Stick with it and you'll learn a ton!

@Maritsa Cortes Welcome to BP community! You'll find a ton of great resources.  I'd second what @Ryan Murdock suggested. You should find a residential multi (2-4 units) in your area and start with house-hacking. Not only you will save on rent, but you may also be eligible for FHA financing.

I'd also recommend to start reading books on MFH real estate investing and listen to other podcasts in addition to BP.