New Member - Kansas City, Missouri

9 Replies

Just wanted to introduce myself, I am Rodney Buford and I am from Lee's Summit, Missouri which is a suburb of Kansas City.  I have some past experience in Real Estate but unfortunately not good experiences thus far.  Previous experience went in with some partners on 9 units (4.5 duplexes).  They managed the finances and I took care of the property management for many years.  Long story short, we sold just recently and lost money because they wanted out and we did a poor job of running numbers when we bought them.  I am licking my wounds but ready to get back on the horse, I am really hopefully I can learn lots more on bigger pockets and try make another go at this on my own.

I am hoping to get some advice on how to get back started looking for SFH or duplex. Hoping to get to some local events around K.C. as well.

Thanks for your time,

Rodney B.

Do you know exactly what mistakes were made when you ran the numbers initially? Why did they end up wanting out? Welcome to the forums, it's a really great place to learn. 

@Rodney Buford Good for you that you're willing to get back on the horse again. Kansas City is a great market so there is no reason you can't do well your second time around. Be sure to check out the MAREI that is run by @Kim Tucker . I believe there is an event this Wednesday. Feel free to reach out if I can be of any help.

@Mike D'Arrigo Thank you so much, I may reach out to as I have seen you have property here in K.C. so would love to pick your brain. Definitely will look up the Missouri REI club.

@Matt K. I appreciate your feedback and advice, I am trying to soak it all up and learn from my past mistakes

@Account Closed I think I know some of my mistakes and will list a few here in hopes someone will learn from my mistakes

Mistakes: