New Real Estate Investor in Atlanta - Looking to Connect & Learn!

15 Replies

Hi everyone! My name is Kyle and I have been a BiggerPockets Pro member since late 2017, and have finally developed the courage to put myself out there after a lot of research and listening to podcasts earlier this year. I made a commitment to myself that in 2018, I would buy at least one investment property, whether solo or with a partner. I live in Atlanta, GA and am looking to network and meet fellow Real Estate Investors and professionals in the area, and am curious to hear some different opinions on this topic that has had me questioning how I want to start for quite some time. The question is - is it downright foolish to start your real estate investment journey in a different state than where you live? I ask because I have lived in the Southeast for almost ten years, but am originally from the Columbus, Ohio area and have a great interest in investing in multifamily properties in the Midwest (namely Cincinnati, Columbus, Cleveland, Indianapolis). It seems that in my backyard, there are less options for multifamily, although I have not yet deployed any creative strategy to this in Atlanta either. I have read @David Greene 's book on Long Distance Real Estate Investing and it is a phenomenal read, but would appreciate anyone who has experience in this area providing some of their feedback as well. I am here to learn and hopefully trade some best practices & strategies so everyone can win! I look forward to meeting everyone in the forums!

@Kyle Neff

is it downright foolish to start your real estate investment journey in a different state than where you live?

No but you need to understand that it increases your risk and your costs.  The best deals tend to go to the investors who know the market the best.  So Columbus may be a better option for you than other Midwest cities.

Kyle