Portfolio versus College Degree

8 Replies

Hi everyone. I’ve been scrollIng BP posts for a few months now and I absolutely love how helpful everyone is. That’s why I would like to bring my dilemma to you and see what your opinions are. I am currently deployed to Afghanistan. I will get back home to Minnesota sometime next year. My plan is to get a college degree, start an apprenticeship as an electrician, and start building a rental portfolio. My conflict is that I dont know which order I should do those in. I want to start my financial freedom as soon as I get back by obtaining a positive cash flowing property and a full time electrical job, then after a few years go get my degree once I’m financially stable. On the other hand, I don’t know if I’ll be motivated enough to go college in a few years, so I might as well get it out of the way when i get back right? Thoughts?

It all depends what are your true goals and if you are able to have the income without a degree to achieve buying your rentals. The answer is most likely no depending on your field and experience. A degree is always good to rely on as long as you don't take on a huge amount of debt to receive the diploma. you can work on both at the same time. Network as you go to get the degree and purchase your first property by house hacking. Always think with the end in mind and what you truly want to achieve and take it a step at a time.

Best of Luck.

@Cole Barthel

Get your college degree.

Properties, even if cash flowing, will not pay your bills. Properties might eek out a few extra dollars each month, but you would need to have a substantial portfolio before you're getting enough cash-flow to even consider living off of rental income. Cash-flow positive just means that the property isn't eating a hole in your wallet each month. But, most of that money should be going back into rainy day savings or looking for other properties.