New to bigger pockets

10 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am new to Bigger Pockets, and real estate investing. I have been listening to podcasts and reading the forums on multiple sites for the past month or 2,  this lead me to BP.  I would like to thank everyone for their time and all of the information here on BP, it is awesome. 

I Have 1 single family rental that was my primary residence.  I am now looking for out of state single family home rental properties . I have family in the Memphis area and I believe i will be starting there.m  I am also looking in other areas as well.  I have been thinking of buying a turn key for my first out of state rental,  to get my feet wet and learn the process.   I plan on purchasing the first rental by the end of the year (much sooner if i find one that the number works)   and a minimum of 2 next year.  (I have much bigger goals then that, but those are the realistic ones,so i don't seem like a dreamer).  I have already cleared the first hurdle and I am pre-appproved for a loan (the letter said approval, not qualified).    Now the search continues.  

Have a great weekend

Hello! @Kenny Lundgren

Welcome to BP, and congratulations on making the decision to invest in your future via real estate.

I have written a few blog posts that may help you get started here on BP, and with your investing. Please click on the links, give them a read, and share your thoughts in the comments.

First is a post that I feel will help not get overwhelmed with the amount of info that is here on BP:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/blogs/5868/52761-the-simple-guide-to-getting-started-on-bp

The second is a post that will help get you focused with your real estate investing goals:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/blogs/5868/52743-im-new-to-bp-any-advice-would-be-appriciated

The last one is a post that will help you choose an “investor friendly” real estate agent. There are many agents out there, but it’s important to choose the right one.