Newbie from Bayamón, Puerto Rico!

18 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm Julio Navarro, from Bayamón, PR. I'm a US Army vet, working as an electrician for a private contractor, and desperately wanting out. I first came to know about RE thanks to Robert Kiyosaki's Rich Dad Poor Dad, and now found BP, initially by podcasts. Great show BTW! I've been hearing them from the beginning, going on #40 in less than a week. My girlfriend is joining me in this new venture, and we're really excited! 

So we're most inclined to start off with buy and hold, with a multi family unit. Then adding fix and flip to the equation. But first need to choose where we want to start, not sure if PR is the best place ATM. 

Really excited for what's to come! Hopefully I can find a fellow Boricua here in BP! 

Michael,

Welcome.  Like you I am new on the site.  Thank you for your service.  I have a brother in the Navy.  Like you I am enjoying the podcasts and starting from the beginning.  I listen to them on my commute to work.  I am not an expert and I know that Puerto Rico is recovering from Maria.  I am sure there are people here on the site that can help you find opportunities in those circumstances.  Good luck and welcome to BiggerPockets.

Mark

Hi @Julio Navarro - welcome to BP! I'm in Ohio but my husband & I would love to invest in PR someday. We really love it there and were just there last month for a short trip. We didn't make it all over the island but I understand that some areas have been put back together a bit better than others. I also understand that the population is declining rapidly, especially with younger folks fleeing. As a resident there, I would love to hear your thoughts on investing on the island if you're willing to share?

If you have any questions about Columbus, OH, I'd be happy to share what I know too! :)

Amanda 

Thank you Michael, Mark and Amanda, for the welcoming!