Is it a bad time to invest with the upcoming recession?

9 Replies

Good afternoon everyone, just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Idania and I'm new to bigger pockets as well as to real estate investing. I am currently working with a bank to get my finances in order to start on my first flip. However, a lot of people keep talking about the recession and how i shouldn't invest. The comments are all well intended but they did get me some what worried. Regardless I'm still motivated and just looking for some type of confirmation that investing is still a good idea in spite of the recession, thank you.

People have been talking about a recession since 2012ish and will always keep talking about it. With that said, the run we have been on since the 08/09 crash is unprecedented and eventually we will see a correction/recession (when? your guess is as good as anyone else).

I am also new to real estate investing and I personally believe we are not too far away from a correction or recession. That as well as the fact that it is extremely difficult to find cash flow positive properties in my focus area (I am focusing on rental properties rather than flipping) have started making me focus on building a bigger war chest and expand my knowledge for when the next opportunity shows itself. If I find a good opportunity before the next correction/recession, I will be ready, but I will certainly not buy something just to buy in today's market!

In the end, it is impossible to time the market. As such, as long as you are comfortable with the risk/reward of whatever property you buy, someone telling you that a recession is coming shouldn't scare you away because then you would never invest.

Just my opinion as a newbie in real estate investing.