Newbie real estate investing in Atlanta, GA

8 Replies

Hey everyone!  My name is Alan Matthews and I'm a software engineer at a SaaS company here in Atlanta, GA.  After reading Rich Dad Poor Dad, my entire perspective on finance and earning income changed dramatically.  I've been looking to get more involved in real estate and have been listening to the BP podcasts daily.  I've also bought a few of the BP produced books by J Scott and Brandon Turner and I'm hungry to learn more.  No properties yet, but wanting to fix that soon!

For now flipping houses excites me the most, but I'm open to other areas like rental properties or wholesaling.  Any thoughts on next steps?  Get my real estate agent's license?  Focus on looking at tons of deals?  Are there any meetups in the metro/ITP area that I should be going to?

Look forward to networking with everyone!

@Alan Matthews ,

Welcome to Bigger Pockets.

Below are a few tips for new members.

Tip # 1: Check out the Start Here page

Tip # 2: How to Use @Mentions on BiggerPockets

Tip # 3: Votes

Tip # 4: Setting up Keyword Alerts

Tip # 5: Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide

Tip # 6: If you want information on Buy and Hold investing check out the Beginners Guide to Buy and Hold.

Tip # 7: 25 Tips for Real Estate Success

BP Webinars

Tip # 9: Check out events and happenings around you by clicking on the link

Check out the Georgia Real Estate Investors Association for networking and education. They have many monthly educational meetings.

Good luck and let me know if I can be of assistance.

Welcome @Alan Matthews

There's a BiggerPockets inspired meet up in Buckhead once a month. I believe @Vincent Crane can you give you the info on how to get plugged into that. 

Beyond that my advice would be to analyze deals daily and get really comfortable with the numbers of the different scenarios as well as figuring out your financing approach.