Triangle NC newbie to real estate and Airbnb

7 Replies

I'm a physician who is fairly new to investing in real estate in the Raleigh Durham area.  Like many in my profession, investing and finance were not specifically addressed in my career path.  
Does anyone have experience with this location? 
Specifically, looking to buy a property for the purpose of using it as an Airbnb?

I'm also trying to figure out what would work "time" wise since my wife and I are both have careers in health care and we have small children. Does anyone use a company to manage these properties? May not make sense financially.  

Thanks!

Hi @Samuel Huang . Congratulations on pursuing REI! I used to live in that area, but @Dawn Brenengen still does and is a very knowledgeable investor agent. Connect with her and she can help out. I suspect there are a number of areas near downtown, near the universities, and near RTP that would be great STR options.

Good luck!

Just be aware of the heavy hand of local government. Examples abound, but WRAL did a quick summary recently. there will be a legal challenge at some point, but just go in with the understanding that code enforcement will be watching your Airbnb and STR business.

I am not in the STR business but am aware of Raleigh ordinances and state statutes are in conflict. You definitely want to get a full understanding from someone (or an attorney) well versed in this (STR) market. BTW, Raleigh has regulated boarding houses for decades. Having lived through the rental registration mess and the drive-by condemnations, I've learned there are places (cities) to avoid. But these are my choices. Make your own based on your needs, goals, risk tolerance, etc.