New Investor from San Jose, California!

23 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Steven L. (age 23) and I’m a long-time podcast listener who finally decided to take action on my interest in real estate. I am from San Jose, California and often commute around the San Francisco Bay Area. Currently, I work as a scientist at a biotech/biopharmaceutical company out in Pleasanton, CA paying out student loans as quickly as possible to build funds for my first investment!

As it stands right now, I am a newbie that has yet to do his first deal, however, I have been taking in a wealth of knowledge to narrow down my market and strategy of interest. The Bay Area & California markets are hot and expensive at the moment so I plan to start off my journey with long-distance real estate investing. I would love to chat with others about their thoughts on current opportunistic markets as well as markets that are up and coming that I should keep an eye on.

I have been analyzing 5 properties per day, running the numbers, and hypothetically strategizing how I would finance/rehab and complete the deal. I’d be very interested in connecting with others who I can chat with about my numbers, different strategies to finance/rehab the property and such.

My goal is to acquire buy & hold rental properties long-distance and put systems in place to manage those properties to increase my passive income to free up time allowing me more family time and time to venture into other interests. I would like to complete my first deal within a year of this post. If anyone in the bay area would like to chat at a local meet-up or over a brew or dinner, feel free to link up and who knows, we could potentially partner up on a deal!

I am very much open to any suggestions that any members have for me as I inch closer to my first deal; let’s link up and chat!