Please Help a Baltimore Investor Make Sense of This

8 Replies

Hello! I've been lurking on this site for quite sometime and finally signed up and decided to introduce myself. I work in IT and have a retail business that afford me some cash-flow but it's obvious that Real Estate is where it's at and that I need to get good at this. There is so much great advice on this platform that it's quite overwhelming to actually settle on the best way to begin. I challenged myself in June to buy one property this year and that hasn't happened so this is my public challenge to make it happen. 

I currently live in a 950sq ft, 3/1 house I purchased as a foreclosure about 4 years ago. It has no mortgage. The previous owner did a lot of renovations without pulling permits so it is actually listed as a 4/1. I did a lot of the renovations myself and learned a lot but I now know that this is not the best way to use my time. My family will grow in the next 6 months so my plan is to purchase a new property for myself and rent my current home out. I'm not sure this is a good plan because my searches have emotion behind it instead of just plain analyzing the numbers. 

I've signed up for a bunch of meetup groups and plan on attending a meeting tomorrow to network and hopefully learn from the pros. I'm also interested in connecting with fellow Baltimore/DMV investors and will be interested in volunteering my time/knowledge(however small) to a professional in exchange for guidance and a chance to learn. I'm a very fast learner, extra motivated and handy with my hands. If anyone in Baltimore needs some free help or wants to partner up on a deal, I'm down. 

Hi Michael,