New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Jessica Jaboor
Votes |
Mom and pop brokerage

Jessica Jaboor
Posted Jan 21 2020, 21:10

Recently passed the CA broker exam with no experience in R.E. Thinking of diving right in and opening a mom and pop brokerage, as I have been given an office space at no charge. Maybe finding agents by giving 100% commission or low commission rates and or starting solo and hiring a transaction coordinator to help put with the paperwork together

User Stats

Votes
Kase Knochenhauer
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Grand Haven, MI
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Grand Haven, MI
Replied Jan 22 2020, 04:28

@Jessica Jaboor - I'm an owner broker of a small brokerage in Michigan. I can speak from experience that being a broker will only make you broker.

Working an associate broker with another local brokerage can be more profitable and MUCH smaller headache. Growing a team (not a brokerage) seems to be the future of real estate. It's faster, cheaper, more commonly successful, and has way less overhead.

If you want to be a mentor, talk to your current principle broker and see how you might be able to help him/her. There are so many ways to grow your business without taking on the risk of opening your own brokerage.

Please don't open a brokerage just because you can. It's a bad idea for 98% of people.

User Stats

Votes
Charlie MacPherson
  • China, ME
Votes |
  • China, ME
Replied Jan 22 2020, 04:41

@Jessica Jaboor  @Kase Knochenhauer is offering some real wisdom here.  I know because I did the same thing.

I spent 3 years trying to get a brokerage off the ground.  We were up to 10 agents, but none were producing anywhere near as much as I was.

I ended up spending so much time recruiting, coaching and training agents who weren't producing that my own numbers took a big hit. On top of that, I was paying for CRMs, websites, E&O, lead generation, marketing, etc.