Newbie searching for a unique market (college towns)

20 Replies

Hello everyone - New to BP and very interested to explore the site.  I have been considering jumping into real estate for a few years and I figured what better time than when the market is absurd.  I like a challenge. 

My background is in art and design and I'm currently looking to relocate to a new market depending on where I find my next teaching job, as I've recently finished graduate school, have taught for a major university, and want to find a more affordable market now.  (Currently located in California.)  I am skilled in rough and finish carpentry, drywall, electrical, interior design and light architectural renovations having spent my career in design/build, theater/film sets, and also assisting friends with small home design projects.  My interest as an investor is in flipping (live-in flips) and house-hacking duplex-to-fourplex properties (whichever comes first I suppose.)  I am eager to find an ugly duckling that I can use some design expertise and years of frugal fix-it knowledge to improve for low cost, high quality, with lots of sweat equity.

Here's the thing.  I am in a position to move anywhere in the country to continue my academic career.  There's two scenarios:

1.  Hired full-time for a faculty position at a university and move wherever that is.  (Waiting on a few potential outcomes here.)

2.  Not be hired full-time (the most likely scenario, unfortunately) and CHOOSE where to move in order to relentlessly apply for adjunct/part-time teaching jobs at colleges/universities in the area. 

I may post this in another forum as well, but here's the big question:

If you could move ANYWHERE in the country right now, where would you suggest?  Want to a market that fits the following criteria=

- Must have a handful of colleges/universities with creative arts departments, within two hours drive.  (any type - Public, Private, Trade schools, Community Colleges etc)