New investor from CA looking for GA multi-family advice

20 Replies

Hey BP!

I am a newbie from Southern California and am interested in purchasing real estate in Georgia since the prices here are too steep and I would be flying out to GA several times a year anyway to visit family. Ideally, I would like to acquire multi-family near Atlanta and was hoping to get some input from local investors. I have done some preliminary research into potential areas primarily in North Atlanta, and it seems to be dominated by large apartment complexes. Is there a market for smaller multi-family buildings or should I shift my focus to single family? Thanks in advance and I look forward to connecting with the BP community!

Heya! I live in SoCal too and I grew up in Atlanta and also my investment properties are there. For the most part, you aren't going to find residential MFRs that will cash flow, and you also aren't going to find a ton of cash flow in northern Atlanta. Over the years that investors have been eating up cash flow there, it's mostly been SFRs I-20 (both directions) and south. Not to say there's nothing on the north side, but it's much fewer and farther between. And when Atlanta was in it's heyday for cash flow, MFRs weren't where it was. 

Not trying to be a total buzzkill, but I'd definitely look at various areas as well as SFRs...if for no other reason than to compare the options. But if you don't find cash flow with the MFRs or on the north side, know it's not you...

Do you have any counties or communities in mind in north Atlanta?