Looking for Insight into Investing in Rockford, IL

9 Replies

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie investor looking to get started with buy-n-hold rental properties in the Rockford area. I saw on a BP blog post that the area offers excellent cap rates so I am beginning to research the area. I'm going to be attending the Rockford Apartment Association meeting on the 15th of September but hopefully I can get a jump start on some insight from you, dear reader.

Here are some of the questions I'd like to ask at the meeting - if anyone could provide some answers, I would greatly appreciate it! If I am missing a key question, please let me know about that as well.

Who should I know?

What do you think of the Amerock Hotel Redevelopment?

Do you think that the Amtrack expansion will become a reality in the next five years?

What neighborhoods should I avoid?

What are the disadvantages to investing in Rockford?

Where do you see Rockford in the next five years?

hi Aaron! It's Aaron from Chicago! Congrats on your venture into real estate! I'd be glad to answer any questions you may have. Please feel free to connect!

Hi @Aaron Mikottis ,

Congrats on starting your journey.  You have some good questions but a little more specifics about your strategy would help as well.

Rockford is attempting to attract visitors through youth/amateur sports and tourism.  It is also getting locals downtown with the farmers markets and other special activities. The fact that investors are considering a hotel downtown is encouraging but more is needed to bring tourists especially with Chicago, Milwaukee, and Madison near by.