Renting out bedrooms in my house

22 Replies

Good morning, I recently moved to Arnold and bought a 4 bedroom house. I have someone who wants to rent out a few bedrooms, my question is what steps do I need to take ensure this is successful? Also is there any trouble to look out for? I am a newbie so please don’t assume I know anything when giving guidance. Thank you, Jake Cast

The renter is a tenant. Read up the landlord tenant laws for your state. Make sure to put a lease in place. You will want to make sure you clearly specify what the tenant is responsible for; utilities , snow removal, parking , cleaning , access to common areas etc.