Multi Family investing near Cherokee St.

9 Replies

I'm a newbie to the investment world and ready to finally get serious about purchasing my first multi family rental property.  I lived in South City St. Louis for about 9 years until about 2 years ago, so I know St. Louis can be different from block to block.   I was able to find an off the market 4 family within two blocks south of the heart of Cherokee st.   It is currently rented and on paper the cash flow looks great.

Does anyone have any thoughts about investing in this area?

When I was living in South St. Louis a couple years ago, there seemed to be a lot of development and rehabs in the Cherokee st area, which is a good sign, but do you see this trend continue?  

This is my first rental so I'm stuck trying to find a place that I can afford, but also be in an area where there is a possibility to have decent tenants and hopefully some long term growth.  

Any thoughts from local investors on this area would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ryan

I've had the same thoughts about Cherokee St. It really depends on the block. Some have more potential and some will be rehabbed much quicker than other blocks. It depends what the housing stock is and what condition it is in. Are there lots of boarded up houses falling apart? REALLY falling apart? Might be harder for that to be rehabbed. Are there larger buildings or smaller buildings? People like to rehab the larger ones over the smaller ones etc. The east end seems to be rehabbing faster than the west end because that is where the activity is on Cherokee St.