• Manhattan, NY
Votes |
How to Calculate Property Tax in NYC

Masashi Borges-Silva
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Manhattan, NY
Posted May 12 2018, 16:40

First of all, I am still new to this forum and REI, and I am doing my own research about REI

One of many questions that I have in REI is how do you accurately estimate the property tax that you might potentially buy?

I think this is one of many key important questions to ask for a beginner like me and also one who has decades of experiences in REI. So where do I start? That was the question I had, and I learned something that I didn't know about property tax in NYC. I would like to share the information here, and hopefully someone can learn something new or points to a right direction to answer your specific needs.

Below is what I learned today: (**Disclaimer** Please use this as a guide only since I am not a professional CPA or expert in NYC tax codes. Please seek a professional CPA for your REI evaluation.**)

There are 4 property tax classes in NYC as below:

• Class 1: one (1)  to three (3) residential unit properties
  • Class 2: Three (3) or more residential unit property including cooperatives and condominiums
  • Class 3: Utility Company Equipment and Special Franchise property
  • Class 4: All other real property

Table below is the tax rates for each class for 2017 fiscal year.