Hot Markets in North east PA for SFHs?

12 Replies

What are some hot markets in northeast PA? i was thinking of clarks summit, dunmore, and scranton, possibly stroudsburg. I have property in Sugar Run, PA but that is the extent of my knowledge about the state of Pennsylvania.

Hi @Patrick Martone :

What do you mean by "hot" market? Markets where the market cap rate is lowering? Markets where SFR values are appreciating faster than average? Or something else?

With the risk of generalizing, any market that's not Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, or Allentown is a tertiary market in Pennsylvania. The market fluctuates but fundamental changes are fairly rare when you look at the big picture. 

Disclaimer: While I’m an attorney licensed to practice in PA, I’m not your attorney. What I wrote above does not create an attorney/client relationship between us. I wrote the above for informational purposes. Do not rely on it as legal advice. Always consult with your attorney before you rely on the above information.

Hi @Patrick Martone

I feel like a lot of PA(northeast included) are great for cash-flow plays.
I haven't heard of many of the areas that you mentioned but they appear to be a good cash-flow play just by looking at the medium home sales price of $85,000 - $150,000. The areas also appeared to be low on crime risk. However, a downside that I did see was that population was low, below 100,000, and has flat increases year over year.

I hope others with actual experience in those areas can chime in.

I personally invest in Allentown, PA and I find it to be great for cash-flow purposes.

Basit

@Basit Siddiqi Where in BK are you from? I grew up in New York. Are you based in NYC receiving cashflow from Allentown? I considered Allentown but know little about the ins and outs.

I only know scranton and stroudsburg as I pass them going to my PA property on I80.