• Real Estate Investor
  • Springfield, VA
Votes |
Is Richmond a strong buy and hold market

Patrick Young
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Springfield, VA
Posted Feb 7 2015, 10:27
I am considering markets outside of my local market and was interested in Richmond. I live in northern va and have 1 rental here and one in buffalo. I have considered some of the hotter markets like Memphis, Indianapolis etc; a place like Richmond would be 1.5 hour by drive so some more comfort there. Looking for long term buy and hold. Not really looking for fixer upper. Something that is ready or close to ready. Not looking for super cheap neighborhoods either. Maybe something in the 80-100k. Is that possible?Any suggestions on area and good management companies? I could do MLS or off market as I have some direct mail experience. I know little about the market beyond zillow. Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Adam Stanton
  • Investor
  • Fredericksburg, VA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Fredericksburg, VA
Replied Feb 7 2015, 10:46

Yes. Realty track just listed their top 50 buy and hold markets and Richmond was number 4. 

User Stats

Votes
Jon Deavers
  • Richmond, VA
Votes |
  • Richmond, VA
Replied Feb 7 2015, 12:08

Richmond is definitely solid as a buy and hold given all of the economic development happening here and in the surrounding counties. Not just college driven, though being near U of R, VCU, VUU, and VSU definitely doesn't hurt. Speaking of VSU, the tri-cities area of Petersburg, Hopewell, and Colonial Heights is also a good place to look considering the proximity to Fort Lee and the numerous industrial/manufacturing employers in that area. 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Joe Fairless
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Cincinnati, OH
Replied Feb 7 2015, 12:18