Christopher Lynch
  • Providence, RI
Votes |
Zero To 100 Doors - But How?

Christopher Lynch
  • Providence, RI
Posted Jan 26 2023, 21:40

Hi all, 

I currently have a 2 unit and will be hopefully acquiring a second 2 unit this year or a short term rental in a ski town. Still deciding which route to go. The STR looks more attractive from a cashflow perspective.

I have been a licensed agent helping investors buy cash flowing real estate for just over 7 years in the RI market. Many of my friends have turned into investors and it’s great to see so many people build their real estate portfolio. 

Now I want to build a large portfolio of my own. The question is how do investors scale so fast. I know the answer is to raise capital but my question is about structure and mistakes to avoid. 

What are some common ways people structure partner deals when raising capital to build a portfolio? I am assuming both go on title as a joint venture and cashflow is split monthly depending on the percentage of ownership agreement. 

What are some best practices about partnerships? 

What are some important mistakes to avoid?

What are reasonable percentages on deals?

Hopefully this post can open conversation and help some investors who want to turn their small portfolios into larger ones. 

User Stats

Votes
Scott E.
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Replied Jan 27 2023, 07:41

My opinion is that it's not a good plan to focus on # of doors. Talking about the # of doors you own will give you some bragging rights at a dinner party. Or it'll give you a great title for your next blog post. But in real life, the # of doors you own alone is kind of a meaningless metric.

Instead focus more on buying quality properties, in strong locations, with a long term strategy in mind.