• Portland, OR
Votes |
Mobile Home Development

Nate Raynor
  • Developer
  • Portland, OR
Posted Feb 23 2024, 17:36

Hi All, 

I have an opportunity to purchase a piece of land that I think will be great for a mobile home park given a number of location constraints and opportunities. I have a strong background in multifamily and retail development but I have never done a MHP before. Does anyone have a good proforma for evaluating an MHP?

On the surface it seems straight forward, however, in my experience anything straightforward is almost always not straight forward. 

Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Rachel H.#2 Mobile Home Park Investing Contributor
  • San Antonio, TX
Votes |
Rachel H.#2 Mobile Home Park Investing Contributor
  • San Antonio, TX
Replied Feb 24 2024, 07:37

@Nate Raynor You may want to check the zoning on that piece of land before doing further research. There may or may not be restrictions on the land when it comes to placing mobile homes (either new or used) on top of the land. Hope that helps! 

User Stats

Votes
Jay Hinrichs#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Lake Oswego OR Summerlin, NV
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
Replied Feb 24 2024, 08:44

other than the obvious land use rules. ( is this Oregon ).

the main thing we found when looking at land to do a park on in Oregon was Absorption.

A lot of money out to buy the dirt then the cost to set up the park which can run 20k plus per pad. then the time it takes to fill the park.

those are the calcs you have to run to see if its going to work.. Of course if your all cash drag and holding costs wont matter in the long run.

So for us they simply never pencil from ground up because of the cost and absorption time.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Nate Raynor
  • Developer
  • Portland, OR
Votes |