• Real Estate Investor
  • Clemson, SC
Votes |
Earnest Money--Required or Suggested

Ivan Jenkins
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Clemson, SC
Posted Mar 6 2009, 07:40

I am fairly new to the world of commercial real estate. We are looking to close on a multi-family complex in a college town. We have been told that it is recommended that my partners and I offer $15k-$20k in earnest money for this deal. We have the financing, proof of funds, and management in place...we just can't spare that amount for earnest money.

Are there any creative strategies or ways that any savvy commercial investors have used out there to avoid putting down earnest money in commercial real estate transactions? Any suggestions would be welcomed.

User Stats

Votes
Timothy W.#3 Off Topic Contributor
  • Investor
  • Viera, FL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Viera, FL
Replied Mar 6 2009, 13:24

Have the check for the earnest money be held by the buyer's agent or attorney.

User Stats

Votes
Harrison Painter
  • Indianapolis, IN
Votes |
  • Indianapolis, IN
Replied Mar 6 2009, 14:08

This will be another one of those state by state issues.

In the state of Indiana, earnest money must be held by the listing agent, as they are responsible. Out west, earnest money is usually held by the title company.

If there is no listing agent involved, then take Tim's advice and make sure it is with your agent, title company, or attorney closing escrow has it.

It is very difficult to get around earnest money, as it tells the Seller you are serious. The larger the earnest money, the more serious a Seller will look at your offer.

If you want the deal, and it makes sense, there is no real reason to skirt the earnest money. If you do not have enough cash to cover it, then you probably should not be buying it anyway.

So in my opinion, earnest money is required!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored