• Rental Property Investor
  • Sunnyvale, CA
Votes |
Creative Financing Idea: Looking for Advice

Michelle Eisenberg
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Sunnyvale, CA
Posted Jul 4 2018, 12:45

I'm new to real estate, and I have my first property under contract in St. Louis. This one is tying up almost all of my money right now, but I just found another potential property in St. Louis that could provide a very good cash-on-cash return. My first thought was that there's no way I could make it work because I don't have enough money for a down payment. Then I switched to thinking about how I could make it work, and I came up with a potential creative finance offer that I think I could make work. Being relatively new to this, though, I don't know whether it would actually be a good deal for me (the current owner likely wouldn't accept it either, but I'd potentially be willing to try making an offer if my idea sounds reasonable). I'm looking for any advice you may have about my idea for structuring it, and I'm open to any other ideas you may have. I'd like to build up my creative financing skills whether this one works out or not.

The house last sold in 1995 for $34,000. If the owner hasn't refinanced, I calculated that they'd likely still owe around $13000 on the loan if they had a 30 year mortgage and they made the regular payments each month.

I started with the conventional financing route. Here are the number for that:

List Price: 59,000

Market Value: ~$61,000

Repairs/make ready: $10,000

3 bed/1 bath

Taxes: ~$38/month

Down Payment at 20% (no creative financing): 11,980

Mortgage at 5.5% interest: $272/month

Replacement reserve: $75/month

Cap X: $75/month

Utilities: 0 (paid by tenant)

Property management: 9% of rent plus 1 month rent for tenant placement

Estimated rent: $950/month

Monthly Income after expenses: $169/month

Cash on Cash Return: 9.2%