What would you do? (Starting out)

9 Replies

Here’s the scenario:

Image you are a complete beginner.

You have $40,000 cash

Another $14,000 in a savings account

And can draw on approx. $50,000 HELOC in your primary residence.

Assuming your goal is to BRRRR, how would you best use these resources to start? What would you hold in reserve? Would you try get more of other people's money?

@Christopher Wasowicz

Hi Christopher, i m looking to do a BRRRR on my first deal as well following Brandon s tips pretty hard. I m also looking to partner on my deals. I have a few that i m working on and i m getting good leads would you be interested in partnering. We can connect and go over numbers see if this works out?

What do you say potential partners!?👍🏾

I'd buy a property for all cash, renovate yourself out of pocket, then place a tenant in it and self manage it. That will give you a great real estate education.

A single family home is an asset that's pretty easy to get out of if desired so it's a good way to start in my opinion.

@John Teachout

This is essentially what I was thinking. Wasn't sure if I should mess with my primary residence via the HELOC, but yes essentially I wanted to use my first purchase as a education project. I've managed property, but I'm interested in the analysis, rehab, and relationship building. Thanks

@Ducarmel Francois Jr

I am excited at the prospect of partnering to tackle large deals... one day. For now, I do not have the experience that I feel would make me an informed and competent partner. Please take no disrespect and let us keep each other in mind. One day, soon, when I feel I have a better grasp of the fundamentals of REI, I would be glad to partner on a deal. :)

@Christopher Wasowicz Since you've limited this topic to BRRRR....

IMO, the easiest way to truly BRRRR is to use all cash and HELOC. because you have no track record, any hard money loan is going to be very expensive and take away the opportunity to BRRRR.