• Property Manager
  • Central Florida
Votes |
Questions About FHA 203k Loan

Ben Morand
  • Property Manager
  • Central Florida
Posted Jul 3 2020, 15:01

Hey guys! My name is Ben Morand and I am a 20 year old college student based out of Orlando, FL. So right now, I am looking to get started with my first deal. However, as a college student, I lack consistent income and hefty cash savings (my credit score is solid, however). Because of this I am exploring the various methods of creative financing in hopes to find one that suits my situation.

I have read Brandon Turner’s Book on Investing With No (and Low) Money down, so I have a general idea of several different methods. However, I feel that I could definitely benefit from hearing from experienced investors who have a much deeper knowledge than myself.

One method that interests me in regards to my current situation is an FHA 203k loan. This interests me because if I can find a solid flip, I can utilize the BRRRR strategy and make what I have work for me. I have a few questions regarding this type of loan, so if anyone would be willing to help, I'd greatly appreciate it.

1) How common are these types of loans? I hear that not all mortgage brokers are able to do this sort of loan, but I know that I’ve heard that a few people in the Bigger Pockets podcasts (including Brandon Turner I believe) have utilized it for their first purchase.

2) How long does the process generally take? So I know you have to have a lot of extra paperwork completed when utilizing this type of loan, as well as get contractor estimates, etc but in general, does this loan typically take weeks, months, etc to get approved? I am wondering because it seems that you could miss out on some deals with the process taking as long as it does. (sorry this may sound like a dumb question, but I have never purchased a property before so I’m not exactly sure how the pre-approval process actually works)