• Property Manager
  • Central Florida
Votes |
Questions About Seller Financing

Ben Morand
  • Property Manager
  • Central Florida
Posted Jul 3 2020, 20:28

Hey guys! My name is Ben Morand and I am a 20 year old college student interested in buy & hold investing. Right now, I am just trying to gain as much knowledge as I can and build connections, as I am so eager to get started in the real estate investing world.

So currently, I am trying to learn the various ways to creatively finance my first deal. I am looking to do this because as a college student, I lack steady income and cash on hand, so it doesn't seem very likely that I'd be eligible to qualify for a conventional loan. While I've looked into hard money and FHA 203k loans, another option that I've considered is seller financing.

I’ve read Brandon Turner’s Book on Investing With No (and Low) Money Down, so I have a general understanding of several creative financing solutions. However, I still have several questions about seller financing, so if anyone would be willing to give some insight, I’d greatly appreciate it!

1) How common is it to find a seller that is willing to do seller financing? I know this is a bit of an ambiguous question, but I basically am wondering if it happens often (because from what I know about it, it seems like an amazing opportunity for both the buyer and the seller).

2) Is it hard to obtain without steady income? For my situation in particular, I do not have the steady income required to take on a conventional loan, so being able to work with seller financing instead would be ideal. I also am wondering because as far as I know, the seller’s property is used as collateral so if the buyer is unable to fulfill the loan, the seller gets the property back anyways. Is this generally how it works?