What's Working in Los Angeles?

10 Replies

Hello Everyone!

Fairly new to the BP community and excited to get involved.

I currently live in Los Angeles, near the LAX area, working as an engineer in Aerospace. I have prioritized savings and want to take the next step in securing my first rental property. I was hoping to find a house hack while living here in LA but that doesn't seem reasonable when trying to stay within 10 miles of work.

I've been looking around and can't seem to find properties in the area that would have good cash flow and ROI. This is likely because the barriers to enter are too high for me currently but this leads me to the question of, what's currently working for investors out here?

Are there any new investors living in LA that have been successful without being already quite wealthy?

Thanks to everyone for the help.

Tim

Welcome Tim! I used to be an Aerospace Engineer as well :) Left it in 2012. And I live in Venice Beach, so pretty close to you.

The last property I bought was a duplex here in Venice, but it was expensive, negative cash flow.. the whole thing. Other than that one, I've always bought out-of-state for rentals. A lot of SoCal folks do that-- easier entry prices, positive cash flow, etc. There is no cash flow here, and the ROI is really tough-- you'll be dependent on appreciation potential for profit. So you're not just not seeing the deals... they aren't here. And even worse now with the inventory shortage everywhere, LA is no exception.

For househacking, the big thing you want to consider is the numbers (if you're talking about LA). You want to make sure you know exactly how you plan to profit because you're going to be pretty highly negative cash flow for a while. Here's general househacking considerations-

https://www.biggerpockets.com/...

Hope that helps!