Tips for beginner real estate investing in the bay area?

15 Replies | San Francisco, California

Hey BP members! My name is Richard, I'm 21 years old with about 8-20 k of money I could use as of now for investing( I don't make that much yet), I am in the process of getting my real estate license , and I am from the bay area.I am new to using bigger pockets, however I have been listening to podcasts, studying, and reading articles for some time now. what would you all suggest for a new person like me hoping to start their jounry into real estate investing? I hope to use the BRRRR strategy however the prices in the bay area are quite high and I don't make a whole lot of money as of now. I have considered OOS investing however I am still looking into that and if that may be a better option for me. I really want to learn as much as I can on here and hopefully connect with some people that may live in California/bay area as well.

Hi Richard,

You may be best looking into OOS investing because of pricing in the Bay Area. In my opinion it’s a good idea to get your first deal under your belt. Don’t worry too much about what that deal is. Start with something small that you can learn with. Then once you learn the ins and outs of it you can grow bigger. The other option I’d recommend is seeing if you can partner with someone in your area on a local place. Good luck man!

keep your cash keep stacking It up... you need at least 50k in reserve fund before you do anything.

Since 2003 I never had luck with people who put 10% or less as down payment in SFBA on homes. This is not to say you can not be eligible for FHA, VA(ex-military). The 3.5% EMD for anything 1M(below median SFH) is 35K. Best wishes.

Invest that money while you add to your savings. Look into money market funds or CDs. 

Unless you can somehow partner with another to provide more capital and experience you should just focus on learning and saving right now.