Are we headed towards housing crash 2.0?

23 Replies

Hello I’m relatively new to real estate investing and to this website. As I started to dig into some research I noticed that in fairly affluent areas here in California and in select states that I’m looking (Florida and Arizona) are showing a significant amount of pre-foreclosure homes. Places that you wouldn’t expect people to be underwater on their mortgages. Does anyone else have any insight to this observation? What strategies would you create from this information?

I, too, noticed this and would love some information on:

a) What this means for the economy in these particular markets &

b) How do I go about analyzing and correctly purchasing a pre/foreclosure to buy and hold as well as potentially flip? Is there a BP book in relationship to such?

Do not get too focused on the numbers in the short run. Look at the data over a long period of time. Also factor in the prevailing interest rates over the same time frame.

Predicting a crash is never easy. The folks who claim to have predicted correctly in the past generally are confusing luck with a prediction. Or, they are not telling you about the other predictions that did not work out as planned.

If you are really worried about a market, use less debt. Even in 2008, most people continued to pay their loans and continued to own their homes.

Originally posted by @John Corey :

Do not get too focused on the numbers in the short run. Look at the data over a long period of time. Also factor in the prevailing interest rates over the same time frame.

Predicting a crash is never easy. The folks who claim to have predicted correctly in the past generally are confusing luck with a prediction. Or, they are not telling you about the other predictions that did not work out as planned.

If you are really worried about a market, use less debt. Even in 2008, most people continued to pay their loans and continued to own their homes.