The "2 am broken toilet" excuse, upgraded

26 Replies

So I've been busy looking at deals, talking with people about my real estate journey so far, am 100% open about it to everyone I meet, pretty much.

Today, I had a conversation with a coworker.

"I want that one house that pays you a ton of money every month." His cash flow number was $2,000 per month... I'm still pretty new at this, but I've got some general knowledge on options he can have to go that route. We get to talking, and his number 1 excuse:

"I don't want a lot of houses, because I dont want to deal with Fair Housing tenants. I want just one or two houses with really great tenants."

He then goes on to talk himself out of THAT because his mom had a bad time owning houses.

This is a guy who spent years watching his mom landlord, spending 5 years in his 20s as a loan officer (I'm guessing broker), and now drives big rigs for our employer)

I'm honestly just wondering how common such a specific excuse like this is, and why someone wouldnt be open to ideas that give him exactly what he's looking for?

@Keith Torsen

It's one of thousands of excuses out there. You should be glad there are so many excuses and so many people that use them. It creates huge opportunity for the relatively few of us.

I run into so many people who want something, but don't want to put in the work. I meet people every day that ask me to help them get started learning about wholesaling, and various forms of investing. When I follow-up, I hear: "I didn't have time to read that book", "I didn't have time to listen to that podcast, or drive to look at properties, or go to a REIA meeting, etc. etc. etc" But in the next breath, "Hey, did you see that game yesterday?" (You know the one that was on for 3 hours-when he didn't have time to take any steps toward his goal) Like I've heard many times before, "People want to win the lottery, but don't want to buy the ticket"