New Member Looking to Connect and Learn

20 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

Hello Chicagoland Investors!

My name is Peter and I'm a recent graduate from DePauw University in IN (any alumni here??). Since graduation, I was bitten by the real estate bug and have spend the last several months learning as much as I can about the industry. The majority of my learning has come from BP Podcast and Straight Up Chicago Investors podcast. Now, I'm looking to take my education to the next step by connecting with seasoned real estate professionals in the Chicagoland area. 

My goal for 2021: buy my first property. I'm leaning towards a condo in Chicago. One that I'd live in for a few years before eventually renting out. I've heard mixed opinions about condos in Chicago. What do you guys think?

I'm looking forward to connecting with as many of you as possible!

@Peter Nicieja

Hi Peter, welcome to the community. I was in the same situation as you a few years ago and now own/manage a few multi units in the city. Reach out if you need someone to bounce ideas off of!

Hey Peter, I house hacked a condo in Chicago and it went very well for me. Multifamily eventually becomes the play in order to scale but to start, it’s great especially if you want to buy and house hack in some of the more hip areas of Chicago. 

@Peter Nicieja welcome to he community! A condo in the city is great for quality of life. I doubt you are going to get a steal on a condo in this market, but that is not always what life is about. Once you are settled you can focus on networking, saving and getting ready to start picking properties up!

@Paul De Luca

Great question. To be honest, a multiunit is a little intimidating to me because I've never bought property for myself before. I figured a condo would be a better way to enter the investing business. Would you recommend someone like me to still go for a multifamily instead?

@John Warren