Advantages of buying in cash in the Indy market?

8 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I'm a rookie beginning to do out-of-state investing in Indy. I'm targeting B-Class SFH for long-term buy-and-holds. For those that know the market well, does buying in cash (vs. financing) give you an edge in the market or allow you to buy below retail prices? Or is there not much of a difference?

Thank you in advance! 

If you have the cash to consider this, you should just go to a regional bank and get a portfolio loan / non-confirming / in-house. Then you are signing the deal non-contingent on 3rd Party financing and it’s the same as cash from the sellers perspective, which will put your offer in a more favorable light.

I buy and sell some myself.  I want cash.  I don't want my cash tied up for 60 days on conventional financing.  Don't want to wait that long for a close.  When you hear investors, wholesalers, etc. talk about cash deals - what they mean is - no seller financing & whatever you have to do to have the cash available in a few days.   Alot of times if you don't have cash, you can lose out to someone who does.  It's actually worth it so sell for a little less and be able to turn your cash. 

Cash will always win out over financing if there's a bidding war or preference by the seller. Just because the property can then close a lot faster and with less headaches/drama from lenders. As far as whether it will allow you to buy below retail when financing won't, I think that depends on exactly the situation. If there's a bidding war then the cash buyer might be able to get it less than the financing buyer but that may not necessarily mean below retail. And then the condition of the property matters in terms of retail. Etc. So it just kind of depends.