8" joists, 15' span

4 Replies

I am putting an addition on an old house that has 8" floor joists. For various reasons, it's very problematic to change the ceiling height between the original house and the addition. However, the smallest engineered floor joist I can find is 9 1/2". 

Code allows me to span 15'7" with 2x8" on 12" center. That's currently the only option I have, however, I've been told my floor will be bouncy.'' Is there anything else I should be considering?

I would recommend, and have, hiring a structural engineer for situations like these.  It should only be a few hundred dollars.  In my case he was able to give me much simpler solutions than I was expecting to have to install.  An engineer stamp may be needed on your plans in any case, when you go to get permits.

You might be able to doubled up 2x8s.  That gets you from 2x8 joists to 4x8 joists.  Or perhaps add a beam below the new joists.

@Katharine Chartrand I'm a structural engineer, and I strongly recommend against spanning 2x8s at 12" o/c for a 15'-0" span.  "Bouncy" would be putting it nicely.  I'm assuming you're going with at least Douglas Fir - Larch, grade 2 lumber, and that you will be covering it with at least 15/32" plywood or OSB (and the appropriate fasteners) that is rated for your floor live load and span.

Also, I don't know what floor finish you plan to have on this floor, or what ceiling you plan to have below these joists.  If it's a tile floor, you will almost surely have some cracked tiles near the middle of the span.  If it's a drywall or plaster ceiling, you're very likely to have cracks on it too.

I'm also assuming this is regular residential live load (not a main corridor in a multifamily).