Landscaping; to professionally design or not to design, that is the question

9 Replies

Hello, I'm a Landscaper for a company in Tucson that will soon be doing my first deal. 

I always wonder. when doing a fixing a house for rehabb or to rent it out. Would it be wise to invest in a landscape architect and budget in a good landscape design. Not only can it increse your property value 15- 20%. Its also a very good selling point. Yes we all know the wife loves a good kitchen, Bath and sometimes closet. But I don't know how many times I have heard "we didn't know about the house but the beautiful landscape did it for us" or "This house was way above our price range but we got it anyways because of the landscape." so my question is, to professionally or not to design?

You can probably have someone at the local nursery do a design for you for free, if you 're buying plants from them.  There's also several different software programs you can buy that allows you to design landscaping. Unless you are doing a pretty high end house, I don't see where hiring a landscape architect is worth it. I do however agree that curb appeal has a lot to do with selling homes. As they say, you never get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression!

@Karen Margrave excellent advice! I was just wondering about this myself. 

@Monica Corbett  for future reference, when doing the @mention, wait until the name pops up on the menu bottom left, then click onto it. Make sure the name is highlighted in the post and you will know it worked! 

I dont see landscaping adding 15% to 20%  to the value of a house .  Nicely trimmed bushes , fresh mulch , and a clean uncluttered lawn make a good first impression .  Clean and simple .     On a  $ 200K house it would have to be some pretty good landscaping to raise the price 30 to 40 thousand .

Originally posted by @Christian Alcaraz :

... budget in a good landscape design. Not only can it increse your property value 15- 20%. ...