Skip to content
Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Stephen Joyner
  • Contractor
  • Lancaster, CA
Votes |
contrator, handyman, or do it yourself when it come to electrical work.

Stephen Joyner
  • Contractor
  • Lancaster, CA
Posted Jul 12 2015, 09:02

First if its your property do what ever the law will allow you to do without a contractors license.
With that being said I am a contractor an electrical contractor to be exact. For those that don't know the majority of electrical fires, injuries, and death are caused people thinking they can do electrical work, they play electrician. this is to include homeowners , handymen, and contractors. Most states you need to go to school for five years to be an journeyman electrician.
I understand why we all try to do work that needs to be done without a contractor. Because that are a lot of ****** contractors out here. I not immune to them either. I have worked for them and hired them for stuff I needed done. There is no easy way to find a good one. in California you can go to contractors state board to check a license.

User Stats

Votes
Roy N.
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Fredericton, New Brunswick
Votes |
Pro Member
ModeratorReplied Jul 12 2015, 09:36

@Stephen Joyner

When we are undertaking a major retrofit, I always produce an electrical diagram (floor plan showing all fixtures, receptacles, switches, circuits) and review it with the electrician either before we start or during demo.   This gives lots of time to move things based upon his/her feedback before any wires are run.