How to find a GOOD contractor

10 Replies

Good Day BP,

I have listened to all of the Bp podcasts and it seems like finding a contractor and finding a good property manager was two of the most troubled topics spoke of. So a carpenter I just wanted to give a couple ideas that I thought might spark some new ideas on finding good contractors.

Josh and Brandon like the idea of going to home depot or lowes in the early morning and talking with those guys. That is one approach that could have positive results, however it's a numbers game.

I humbly say that in my current career as a carpenter I am working with one of the best residential construction contractors in northern California. The company I work for does homes for very, very wealthy people that stand over us to make sure we are within a 64th of an inch in measure or better and we perform well, though not all customers are like that, that was an idea of the types of customers we work with and enjoy it at that. We plan, clean, build, complete, clean and clean again. It's a very interesting niche coming from the 49er stadium when it was build, build, and build as fast as you can and then open the doors. Saying this I wanted to give some perspectives of what I thought a good way to find a contractor would be.

I am speaking from a high end residential perspective to maybe this won't apply to small towns or rural areas. 

1. Don't always rely on home depot and lowes to a good contractor these are not considered a worthy place to buy materials.

2. Instead of HD or Lowes try a lumber yard this is where the good contractors shop or get materials shipped from 

3. Go the places a good contractor shops and ask the business department, which contractor do they do the most business with this could be

- Lumber yards

- Truss manufacturers

- specialty shops

- Reclaimed wood and material stores

4. Look at homes you want your house to look like and walk up to the owners and ask who they used.