How to calculate partnership split profits.

8 Replies

Hi I am new to this, a partner and I are looking to purchase rehab and flip properties In Houston.

My partner will bankroll the whole thing cash and that is it. I will be in charge of getting contractors to rehab and what ever else is needed.

If we were to split the profits 50/50 , how do I calculate the correct total profit . I know it can not just be as easy as  SoldPrice-CostofHouse-repairs = profit/2. I just want everything to be fair for my partner.  Taxes,agent ,ect. 

Thanks in advance

you split it 50/50 on the NET PROFIT. So after paying taxes, closing costs, commissions, rehab, utilities, insurance, buying side closing costs, and any addition costs, that's when you split your profit 

I assume you will be set up as an LLC or some form of business entity. You'll need to keep track of every expense (including things like vehicle expenses, interest, lawyers, accountants, permits, tax preparation, LLC organization fees etc.) and if applicable, keep track of expenses relating to different projects separately. Basically every dollar spent will be a business expense and every dollar received will be income and the difference after all the dust settles is your profit to be allocated. But from a tax perspective things get tricky and you'll want to work with an accountant even before you start anything in order to really know what you can expect.

Title the property in a trust with both partners as 50% beneficiary, distribute the proceeds at closing at 50% each and keep track of all expenses and who paid for what then settle up on expenses whenever you feel like it. Quite simple actually.

Hi it's been a while since I posted this.  I will be possibly doing it with a different person and my question is how do taxes get calculated? is this like a once a year thing like income tax? or is that something that can be calculated right after selling the property and figure out the profits for each party?