Buying a house for 10k?

6 Replies

I'm very interested in buying in cheap and putting in my own personal leg work and resources into rehabilitating then wholesaling it.  I'm okay with spending lots of hard time and effort on screening, processing, and rehabilitating a house.  I only have about 10k for the initial purchase of the house.

What would be a good place to start to find such a cheap property? Delinquent taxes? Tax lien? Forclosed/bank owned? 

Please share!

@Giovanni Montesclaros

Well,

I'd caution you #1.  Had a friend that did this in Indianapolis, and he bit off WAY more than he could chew.

I remember seeing lots of houses in the 2-8k range in Detroit.  I'm not sure how those would pencil out.

The better place to start in my opinion is to get into something a little 'safer' and get the experience taking on a couple projects.

That said, I'm an engineer and more naturally risk averse than some.

There's not many markets where 10k will get you anything but a liability / house that needs to get pushed into a hole.

Buying a 10k house is difficult to make work, even in the cheapest of markets it will likely take $30,000+ worth of work to make it worth living in and can be in less than ideal areas with hidden defects to boot.  I'd look at other options before going with this strategy.  Just my two cents.

@Giovanni Montesclaros unfortunately, rehab a lone would be way more than $10K. You might want to consider wholesaling to flippers or buy and hold investors that will do the renovation until you can build up capital. I wouldn't try to wholesale these low end properties in bad areas though. You might have a hard time finding buyers for them. 

@Giovanni Montesclaros

Besides the sound advice you are getting I believe you may have missed something a bit more important than "biting off more than you can chew"