Derriel Cribbs
  • Lake City, FL
Votes |
New investor question about a questionable flip

Derriel Cribbs
  • Lake City, FL
Posted Mar 7 2018, 08:19

Hi everyone!

As the title says, I am relatively new to REI, have been educating myself, learning, absorbing, and reading everything I can get my hands on. I went to my first foreclosure auction last week, and even though I lost by a few thousand, I was confident in my numbers. I have some construction background and family who are general contractors, so I knew the value wasn't in the deal any higher than I wanted to bid. That being said, I don't have the experience to know when too much rehab is too much, so to speak. One deal I am looking at now is a good example.

I want to preface this by saying I am not in any way seriously entertaining this deal yet, just wanting to get a feel to see if it is worth researching and doing the legwork to determine if it is viable. 

I live and invest in North Central Florida, relatively rural area. The city I live is not large, but growing. Growth is expected to continue at a fast pace here. I came across a property from a coworker who came to me that she owns. It is a ~1400 SF 3/2 home built in 1987 in a nice and desirable neighborhood. I noticed in on MLS and saw the sale price of 60,000. Red flag. Checked the property on the property appraisers web site, last sold for $144,000 in 2005.