Moving to Wichita, KS. Buy a Duplex?

7 Replies

Hello All! 

I am brand new to BiggerPockets and real estate as an investment opportunity. My family and I are moving to the Wichita area and I am curious what actual numbers are looking like in this area. My wife and I are thinking of buying a duplex to house hack but our biggest issue is we have NO TIME. Is is possible to hire a property manager to take care of the whole duplex so we don't have to try and fix things? What does the cost of PMs run around here? I have used the rental tool on BP website but I don't know what type of percentages to place in PM, Expenses, Vacancy that are accurate. Any and all help and resources would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome, Colton! I'm househacking in Wichita and have been fortunate to have a low maintenance property with a low maintenance tenant. It took my wife and I over a year of serious searching to find one that met our criteria, but with a little patience, I'm sure you can too. I manage the place myself and have not had to put much time at all into it beyond what any homeowner should expect for their own place. Obviously that could change at any moment, and it's hard to predict, but if you're househacking, why not give it your best shot to find a low-maintenance duplex, and handle it yourself? Use cozy or some other free program to manage requests/collect rent/draft a lease and save the 4-10% in PM costs. Best of luck!

Hello Colten! I have to disagree that Wichita doesn't have great property management. I manage a great PM company as well as my own properties, so I know there is a time to manage your own, and a time to let someone else do the job. Would love to talk with you about both. I'll PM you with some info.

@Colten Johnson