BRRRR Strategy in Detroit

9 Replies | Detroit, Michigan

H All,

I'm new to both investing and the Detroit market as I currently live out of state. I'm interested in trying the BRRRR strategy and when looking at recent sales in various neighborhoods, I'm seeing dramatically different values.

Has anyone attempted this approach in the Detroit metro area, either successfully or unsuccessfully?  If so, in which neighborhoods and did you come across any appraisal or refinancing issues? I plan on visiting in a few months and driving several neighborhoods to get a better feel for where I may want to invest.  Thanks in advance for any guidance given.

Hi Rassan, 

Detroit and Metro Detroit are very different when it comes to real estate. The reason you see dramatic value fluctuation because Detroit is a hard market to analyze and takes some walking around. Detroit is such a big city as well so you cannot be macro in your approach but micro because each neighborhood is vastly different. I mean you can literally be in a neighborhood where each and every house is filled and safe. Then turn to the next street and you roll your windows up. Metro Detroit is more like a typical suburb area so its easier to predict and you can take a macro approach. I would visit the Detroit Neighborhoods that are growing and have appreciation component Boston Edison, Midtown, New Center, Rosedale Park, its others on the Eastside as well.

Hope this helps some!

Thanks Jamiel, that information is definitely helpful.  My plan is to focus on Detroit (as opposed to Metro Detroit) so I'll for sure look into the neighborhoods you mentioned and spend some time there next time I visit. As far as appraisals go, I'm going to operate under the conservative assumption that a rehabbed house will appraise for 80-90% of comparable homes in the immediate area for my initial analysis.  Thanks again.