Grand Rapids Rental Certification Process

10 Replies

Hello,

I am a Grand Rapids native and an active duty Army officer who currently resides just outside of Washington DC. I recently closed on a rental property in GR and am going through the process of getting it registered and certified through the city. Reaching out to BP to see if anyone has experience with this process and would mind sharing some tips and lessons learned to ensure a first-time go on the inspection.

Kyle, I have extensive experience with this process (in fact my brother works for code compliance)  I also own a property management company in the area and would love to help in any way I can. 

Hey Kyle,

I just started investing in Grand Rapids. I bought my first rental last year, and just put my second one under contract last month. My appointment for the certification on my first property is next week - we applied 11 months ago. I can tell you more after that. At this point all I know is that they are very far behind, lol.

From what I've heard from other investors it is like a lot of other inspections. If they start to find problems/issues, and it is clear that you have made no effort to be compliant they will continue to look and dig for more. If you address issues, present a quality property, and make it clear that you intend to do everything right and keep everything safe for the tenants it shouldn't be a big deal.

Good luck investing!

The inspections are fairly straight forward.  They are mostly checking for safety issues and making sure the home is livable.  If you don't pass they will give you a list of things to fix, and a time frame to get them done.  Some issues that I have run into were:

Lights with no globe

Lighting in shared areas ( lighting must be able to turn on from all entrances)

Trip hazards in driveway

All door must open, shut and latch properly.

Below is the city's basic requirements.