Tax Deed Sale in Alabama

36 Replies

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Bigger Pockets & have been looking into investing in tax deed properties, so I thought this was a good place to ask my question.

I have 2 properties that I am interested in now in Jefferson County, Alabama. One is occupied- taxes have not been paid on it in over 4 years. I believe it would be a deed sale- 3 years is the redemption period and since no one has purchased a lien on it... If I paid the 4 years of taxes, would it become mine as soon as the title arrived in the mail? If so, how would I go about evicting the people living there currently?

The other property I am interested in is a condo. I plan on doing legwork for it today (at least looking to see if it's occupied, which it more than like is- it is in a very desirable area). Taxes haven't been paid on it for 4 years, just like the other property. Since it's a condo, I was interested to know how soon I would have to take over HOA fees? Is there a way to find out if HOA fees are paid up currently? I've never worked with a condo before, but would love to snatch this one up.

Tips from your personal experience? I do intend on speaking with a real estate lawyer soon. Any recommendations?

It's a complicated matter, i've done two of these so far in Jefferson County. For owner occupied property you have to eject them and then adverse posses property for 3 years to then have the chance to do a quiet title lawsuit.

For HOA property, you just call the HOA and ask them how much it would be to make them current.

This is what you need to buy and read...

http://www.deniselevans.com/Alabama-Tax-Sales.html

I would be very cautious with these, i learned the hard way that in the end you will probably need a lawyer.

@Rebecca Wadsworth @Morgan Smith ....I'm interested in tax deeds as well. There's limited information, but many opportunities. I went to a sale in May several years ago, but didn't purchase. Lots of heavy hitters buying up certificates....